• ***Public Notice:

    ***Public Notice:

    ***A Special Called Meeting is Scheduled for Wednesday, June 1st, 2022 at 5:30pm | Louisburg Operation Center 115 Industrial Drive, Louisburg NC 27549 | Agenda

    ***A Special Called Meeting is Scheduled for Friday, May 27th, 2022 at 10:00am | Louisburg Operation Center 115 Industrial Drive, Louisburg NC 27549 | Agenda

    ***Friday Nights on the Tar/ BBQ in the BURG is scheduled for June 17 & 18 in Downtown Louisburg. Tasting Bands ($15)/ BBQ Plates ($8)/ 1 Pound of BBQ ($8) are on sale now at Town Hall, Blue Collie Coffee Shop and Tar Banks Brewery.

    *** Town of Louisburg Online Bill Pay Services will be down Thursday, May 26th from 4:30pm to 7:30m.

    ***Town Council Meeting is Scheduled for Monday, June 20th, 2022 at 7:30pm |Louisburg Operation Center 115 Industrial Drive, Louisburg NC 27549 |Agenda


  • Serving, Protecting, Educating

Message from the Chief


Currently all non-essential fire department functions have been suspended until further notice. This is to include station tours, public education events, child passenger seat installations, Alarm Louisburg smoke alarm program, and the issuance of burning permits at the station. We are still responding to all emergency calls and handling service calls on a case by case basis.

If you have any questions regarding the Fd’s response, please call the station at 919-496-4290.

Thank you for understanding and we hope to be back to normal operation soon!

Chief Lanham


Fire Department Values:

“Commitment – Dedication – Honor – Pride – Respect”

The Louisburg Fire Department provides emergency fire suppression response to all properties within the Central Franklin Fire District. This district completely surrounds the Town of Louisburg and extends several miles in every direction around Louisburg. The Central Franklin Fire District has approximately 8400 people residing within an area of 25 square miles. The Fire Department also provides education to local entities regarding fire prevention, pre-fire inventories of property, and pre-fire planning mainly to commercial establishments.

The Louisburg Fire Department has a Public Protection Class rating (PPC – ISO) of a Class 3 within the Town of Louisburg and a Class 5/9E in the remaining areas of the Central Franklin Fire District. This rating shows the dedication, commitment, and professionalism of our department and it’s members.  Over 1500 fire districts in North Carolina, we are 1 of about 36 departments with a Class 3 rating.

The Louisburg Fire Department is a combination department consisting of 5 full-time paid personnel, 8 part-time paid personnel and 35 volunteers. The Fire Department is staffed 24 hours a day, 365 days a year by career members who are employed by the Town of Louisburg and by volunteers who are the primary firefighters. These firefighters give unselfishly of their time and efforts to assure that the properties of their fellow citizens are protected from the devastation of fire. Volunteer firefighters must attend monthly administrative and training activities and must actively respond to fires in order to maintain membership. The continuous training and completion of state sanctioned certifications for firefighters is the foundation for quality emergency response and the saving of property.

Many small municipal and rural departments are completely volunteer in nature. This paid/volunteer staff in Louisburg reflects the commitment of the Louisburg Town Council to fund this very important public safety service in order that the citizens of Louisburg enjoy immediate response to threats to their property by fire and other natural disasters.

We currently have 9 nationally certified child passenger safety seat technicians in the department. We serve Franklin County as the only permanent checking station for parents to come by and have their child seat inspected and installed correctly. We offer guidance in proper installation to the parents or caregivers in the surrounding areas. If you have any questions regarding child safety seats, please call or stop by the station.

“Alarm Louisburg” is another program we offer through funding from the NC Office of State Fire Marshall in Raleigh, NC. This program offers smoke alarms to citizens within our fire district at no cost. Our staff will come to your house and survey your needs. We will test existing alarms and install new smoke alarms when necessary. The life span of a smoke alarm is 10 years. If you think your current alarms may be reaching its life span, contact LFD and we will assist you with replacements if available. Remember, a working smoke alarm may be the difference is saving a life in the event of a fire. Always remember to test your alarms each month.



Chief Randy Lanham
Police / Fire / Training Complex

102 Wade Ave., Louisburg, N.C. 27549
919-496-4290 | Emergency, Dial 911

Louisburg Fire Department Staff

The Louisburg Fire Department is located at 102 Wade Ave. in Louisburg, N.C and is a combination department consisting of 5 full-time personnel, 8 part-time personnel and 35 volunteers.
Fire Department Officers
  • Mr. Randy Lanham,
    Fire Chief
  • Mr. Larry Peoples,
    Assistant Fire Chief
  • Mr. Shaun Best,
    Fire Captain
  • Mr. Ryan Murray,
    Fire Captain
  • Mr. Russell Bottoms,
    Deputy Fire Chief
  • Mr. Ray Patterson,
    Fire Captain
  • Mr. Gary Cottrell,
    Safety Officer
  • Mr. Carlton Tabron,
    Safety Officer
  • Mr. Chris Lanham,
    Fire Captain
Fire Department (Career)
  • Mr. Ramey Seal,
    Station Captain
  • Mr. Timmy Whitley,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Mark Rowe,
    Fire Lieutenant
  • Mr. Chase Wammock,
    Fire Lieutenant
  • Mr. Dennis Fogleman,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Ricky Johnson,
    Fire Engineer
Fire Department (Part Time)
  • Mr. Ray Patterson,
    Fire Captain
  • Mr. Jonathan Collins,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Clark May,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. L. S. Ward Jr.,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Randy Young,
    Part Time
  • Mr. Ray Yarborough,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Dalton West,
    Fire Engineer
  • Mr. Bryan Gupton,
    Fire Engineer
  • Justin Massey,
    Fire Engineer