• ***Public Notice:

    ***PUBLIC NOTICE: Sale of Public Property – A 2001 Caterpillar 416 backhoe for more details

    ***EXECUTIVE ORDERS 124/142 End JULY 29, 2020 | Contact Town Hall at 919-496-3406 for details



    CLICK HERE for details about COVID-19 information and updates.

    ***EXECUTIVE ORDERS 124/142 Ended JULY 29, 2020. Contact Town Hall at 919-496-3406 for details about making payment arrangements for past due utilities to avoid disconnection. Customers are responsible for paying for all usage and prior bills and should continue to pay on their accounts.  Call Town Hall, 919-496-3406, if you have any questions, concerns or to set up payment arrangements.


  • Police Department office closed to public

    The Police Department office/lobby will be closed from March 31, 2020, through the expiration of Governor Cooper’s executive orders limiting non-essential activities due to the coronavirus outbreak.  Please call our main line at (919)496-4175 for all non-emergency needs or 911 for all emergencies.

  • Friday Nights on the Tar Concert Canceled

    Friday Nights on the Tar Concert series scheduled for Friday, September 18, 2020 is canceled.
    If you have questions about FNOTT 2021 please contact Louisburg Parks and Recreation Director, Colton Young at 919-497-1010.


  • Meet the Mayor and Town Council.

Meet the Mayor

Mayor Karl T. Pernell has been a lifelong resident of Louisburg. Having retired from the US Postal Service as Superintendent of Postal Operations after 25 years of service, Mr. Pernell was elected Mayor of Louisburg. Having served for 14 years as a Councilmember, Mayor Pernell is currently serving his 5th Term as Mayor of Louisburg. Mayor Pernell has been active in community for many years, including:

  • Louisburg Fire Chief – 16 years, working to establish the NC Fireman’s Pension Fund and to lower the Department of Insurance Fire Rating for Louisburg from a class 8 to class 5. This rate change resulted in savings to property owners in the Fire District and an increase in full time fire staffing from 3 engineers to 5.
  • Instrumental in establishing the Central Franklin Fire District and all such districts to provide a revenue source for all fire departments in Franklin County
  • Franklin County Fireman’s Association – President, 3 consecutive terms
  • Region K Council of Governments Rural Planning Organization (RPO -A Regional Transportation Planning entity) – Chairman
  • Rural Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC) of the Region K council of Governments – Chairman and member
  • Louisburg Baptist Church – currently a Deacon, Chairman of the Building and Grounds Committee, Past President of the Brotherhood: 4 terms, and Chairman of Long Range Planning Committee.
Karl T. Pernell,



Council Members

Council Member,
Mr. Christopher Neal

Council member Christopher Neal is in his first term on the Louisburg town council.  Mr. Neal is retired after being employed in both the public and private sector.  A graduate of Elizabeth State University and an advocate for domestic violence victims and homelessness.  He believes it is all the citizens of Louisburg that make it a charming, small town.

Mayor Pro Tem,
Mrs.Betty Wright

Council Member Betty Keith Wright,
newly elected on November 2017, born in Franklin County and moved to Grant Street in Louisburg City at the age of 2 years old. She attended Riverside High school from grades 1 through 11 and completed grade 12 at Louisburg High School. She attended Louisburg College, Vance Granville Community College and Shaw University. With a Degree in Applied Science in Early Childhood Edu.
Mrs. Wright is the Mother of 3 fantastic children and grandmother of 4.
Worked for 4 years with the USDA-Farm Service Agency and over 30 years with the Franklin County School System. While with the school system, she served in the classroom and with the support staff.
Served positions such as PTA President, member of the Educational Support Personnel for the Superintendent’s Board for the merger of Franklin City and County Schools, NC-ESPA District Director and was a NCAE Delegate to the National Education Association. Betty was recognized as Franklin County Schools Employee of the Quarter in 2008. A member of South Main Street Missionary Baptist Church. Serving on various auxiliaries including: Church Clerk, LACER Camp Director, Relay For life Team Leader, Deaconess Board Chair, and Member of the Senior Choir.
I am committed to help bring excellence to the community because “We’re in this thing together!”

Council Member,
Mr. Boyd Sturges

Council Member Boyd Sturges has been on the Louisburg Town Council for 8 years, currently serving his third term. During this period he has served as Mayor Pro Tem for two terms and has taken the lead on behalf of the Council on several high profile and highly important issues affecting the citizens of Louisburg. Council Member Sturges is a Partner in the Law Firm of Davis, Sturges, and Tomlinson, located in Louisburg.

Council Member,
Mr. Mark Russell

Council Member Mark Russell

Council Member,
Mr. Tom Clancy

Council member Tom Clancy has been a resident of Louisburg since 2001. He is the owner of Strickland Funeral Home & Crematory and Granny’s Drive In. Tom has served on the Louisburg Town Council since 2014, and is privileged to be of service to the citizens of Louisburg.

Council Member,
Mrs. Emma B. Stewart

(919) 496-2956

Mrs. Emma Stewart has served on the Louisburg Town Council for 16 years, having first been elected in 1993. Having grown up in Louisburg and returning to town after her college education, Mrs. Stewart has seen the many changes that have occurred in the community. Having served as an English teacher in the public schools, Mrs. Stewart has great interest in the local schools as well as other civic interests. Mrs. Stewart is presently or has had past involvement with many state and national associations, Including:

  • NC League of Municipalities – Board of Directors, 2 terms
  • NC League of Municipalities – 2007 & 2008 Planning and Services Legislative Action Committee
  • National League of Cities – Finance, Administration, and Intergovernmental Relations Steering Committee
  • Alliance of NC Dental Society – Past President
  • Person Place Preservation Society – Past President
  • Franklin County Library Board – Past Chairman
  • Louisburg Baptist Church – member and variety of committees
  • Various other committees serving Louisburg and Franklin County